Skip to main content

The Programme

Training Program Structure

The MPL Training Course is normally divided into four main phases:

  • Phase 1: Core Flying Skills
  • Phase 2: Basic
  • Phase 3: Intermediate
  • Phase 4: Advanced

The theoretical knowledge instruction and CBT are integrated with the flying training to a maximum extent.

Phase 1: Core Flying Skills

These phases of training are of the utmost importance as the student starts to develop core technical, interpersonal, procedural and aircraft handling skills that underpin the competencies of a MPL(A). In the Core phase, the first goal in the training on the SR20 is the competencies equivalent to the requirements for PPL(A). In the Core phase we also perform night qualification training. The learning of cockpit resource management (CRM) and threat and error management (TEM) skills is strengthened by also introducing them at the very onset of the programme.

Phase 2: Basic

At the Basic level of competence, training on the SR20 as well as multi-engine training on the PA-31 includes instrument flight. However, as from this phase of training, use of flight simulation training devices (FSTDs), ranging from part-task training devices, through generic systems to full-motion, full-visual, high fidelity, type specific flight simulators that also permit the introduction of interactive air traffic control environments, will begin to dominate the training. One part of the training is also the upset recovery training.

A balanced emphasis should be placed on both Pilot Flying and Pilot Not Flying/Pilot Monitoring tasks and performance in the training conducted during the Basic, Intermediate and Advanced phases of training.

Phase 3: Intermediate

The training items that the student needs to complete prior entering the Intermediate phase of training are shown in the MPL(A) Training Scheme and should be completed during the Core Flying Skills and the Basic levels on the SR20. The flight training received in the Intermediate phase of training should be conducted under IFR and multi-crew operations to a high performance multi-engine turbine aeroplane. Upon completion of this phase of training, the student should meet the competency standards that are representative of the Intermediate level of competency.

Phase 4: Advanced

At the Advanced level of competency, the student will be required to consistently demonstrate the knowledge, skills and attitudes needed for the safe operation of an applicable aeroplane type. The type rating training will be performed within an airline, aka host airline, oriented environment. Upon qualifying, the student will hold a MPL(A) and integral type and instrument ratings, the privileges of which are to be exercised on a turbine-powered, commercial air transport aeroplane.


  • Phase 1 – Core is divided into five sub-phases, 1:1, 1:2, 1:3, 1:4 and 1:5.
  • Phase 2 – Basic is divided into three sub-phases, 2:1, 2:2, 2:3 and 2:4.
  • Phase 3 – Intermediate and Phase 4 – Advanced has just one phase each.

Page Manager: | 2015-11-06